Drake, Drizzy, Champagne Papi

However you know the well known Canadian rapper, I think it’s fairly safe to agree that he deserves all the credit he is given. But, was Drakes show really worth his ticket prices? A lot of people who I have spoken to did not get tickets for his gig purely based on price and Drake probably doesn’t care because he’s sold out but did he justify the prices?

The only other artist I paid that much for was Beyonce and she proved why we should pay that much; it wasn’t a show it was a production. When you think about a gig like that, then you can justify the amount but Beyonce show was on a much larger scale than Drake. Saying that, I have also been to shows for a lot less that have also put on a fantastic show – Kings of Leon, Biffy Clyro, Fall out Boy, Jack Garratt…

Unfortunately, I missed the first support act on Saturday due to my ticket not scanning but I was incredibly lucky to be upgraded so sat right next to the stage!

By the time I got into the arena, DVSN was on and I was pleasantly impressed; with more of a chilled RnB vibe it was a nice start to the show. However, the next act, Young Thug were not a good enough pre-Drake act. In fact, I could barely understand what they were saying. I paid £30 to see Two Door Cinema Club and they had Sundara Karma supporting, I paid £80 to see Drake and Young Thug were not worthy.

img_1786

Drake is a hype man, and he is good at it. He put on a good show, singing a variety of old and new; with a production of purple balls floating up and down with the music. There is no question that Drake is a great artist and he deserves all the adoring fans he has. Although I enjoy his dancing and jumping around because it is part of his show, I do wish he sung a bit more than he did.

img_1819

I really enjoyed Drake and I don’t regret spending the money because it was a really good evening, especially as I got upgraded. I also saw him with, Rihanna back in June and I thought he was really good then but, would I pay £80 to see him again? Probably not. img_1943

The reason why I wouldn’t pay that much to see Drake again, isn’t a personal thing to Drake because I probably wouldn’t pay it to see Beyonce either. Yes, Beyonce was AMAZING but so was Rihanna and I paid £45 to see her. I have seen a lot of artists in my time that have put on amazing shows – like Take That’s circus tour and they all managed to do that, without charging their fans a fortune. img_1892

img_1761

Outfit for the night

– E x

Leave a Reply

