Two Door Cinema Club

Last Friday, I went to the O2 Apollo to watch Two Door Cinema Club. Although I have seen them already at Reading Festival, I knew to expect a great show and they definitely did not disappoint. Having sold out the Saturday, Two Door added an extra date on the Friday but considering their last UK tour was in 2013, it is hardly surprising. The tour was for their new album called ‘Gameshow’ which if you haven’t already, you should definitely give it a listen. Personally, Tourist History will always be my favourite album of theirs but I would say Gameshow is pretty close. fullsizeoutput_3c4c

When I think of Two Door Cinema Club, I think of a band with a few great songs but seeing them live makes you realise how many incredible songs they actually have and how many songs I knew the words to. It was clear that Gameshow has gained them a new following of a slightly younger generation. Tourist History came out when I was 15 and I instantly loved it, which is obviously what has happened to 15 year olds now as there were a lot in the crowd that clearly were not as familiar with their older songs – I’m hoping they take time to listen to the older stuff.

Two Door had two support acts, including Sundara Karma who formed in 2015, from Reading and they recently released their debut album ‘Youth is Only Ever Fun in Retrospect’. The band actually played at HMV Manchester for their new album a few weeks ago but unfortunately I could not attend – they are also back in February but again, I am away so I am very happy they were supporting! If you’re into this kind of music, I would definitely recommend listening to their new album – ‘She Said’ is my favourite song.

img_1596

Both bands were absolutely outstanding on the night and the atmosphere was fantastic but on a side note, if you see Sundara Karma keep an eye out for the bassist, Dom Cordell, managed to pull off an outfit I wasn’t sure anyone could: pinstriped black & white trousers, with a blue/white checked shirt and a grey cable knit jumper. Amazingly, he looked unbelievably cool although I don’t think I will be trying it anytime soon…

img_1584

– E x 

Leave a Reply

