Reading 2016

It has only been two week since I set off for Reading festival, yet it feels like a distant dream. After getting stuck in rush hour traffic on the M25 the year before, we decide to set off early and get a good spot for the group – although most think White Camp is the “boring” one, we all really like it.. mainly due to the toilets being slightly nicer than the rest! Before I went, the people I was most excited about seeing was; Jack Garratt & Disclosure and although yes, they were in my top 6, I did discover a few gems as well.

img_8323
Arrived & set up!

Friday; the day I had anticipated to be the creme de la creme: Friday was a great day for finding new acts such as; Fickle Friends and The Neighbourhood, as well as solidifying my love for, Lion Babe, Nothing but Thieves and of course, Lady Leshurr (despite her sound quality being slightly worse than anyone else that day). When it came down to picking which headliner to see, there wasn’t really much competition; I would be spending my first evening at the main stage. We managed to get what we thought would be a pretty good spot for, Disclosure, but it turned out to be pit central and even though I’m not against a good pit, I do like to be able to breathe. For some around us, I think this may have ruined the set but Disclosure still met every expectation of mine. Foals had a pretty big taste following Disclosure and they did do a good job. For me, I think I preferred their secret set last year, but as you’d anticipate, they were still pretty amazing.

img_8347
Disclosure

Saturday; the day everyone was excited for, the Chilli’s. I thoroughly enjoyed Saturday, due to two reasons: I got to the from of Jack Garratt and You Me at Six did a secret set. We had obviously heard the rumours about YM@6 and when we received the notification that they were on at 4pm, we could barely control ourselves. YM@6 definitely left me wanting more and I am really hoping I can get to see them in Bristol later this year but, there was a slight hint that they may headline next year (please Reading!). As a long term, Jack Garratt, fan I was keen to get as close as possible so we heading to the NME as Sigma were playing to get a good spot and I’m so pleased we did; Sigma were insane! They had a huge crowd and really built up a good atmosphere. We were buzzing.. YM@6, Sigma and then we got to the front of Jack Garratt. If I could recommend one person to go and see live, it would be Jack Garratt because I cannot put into words how good he really is. Last year, at Big Weekend, I saw, Imagine Dragons and they were really good, so when I got into the crowd at the main stage and could barely hear them, I was extremely disappointed, more so for the people who don’t realise how good they normally are. I was lucky enough to see, The Red Hot Chilli Peppers, back in June so I probably wasn’t as excited as everyone else. But yes, they were incredible, as anticipated! Half way through, we decided to go and see, Two Door Cinema Club and honestly, I didn’t feel like I missed out not being at the Chilli’s and I really hope I get to see them again live!

img_8387
Jack Garratt (terrible Snapchat quality)

Sunday; the day I anticipated to be an anti-climax. Sunday for me was an odd day, I had see a few of the people before and therefore wasn’t desperate to see anyone, however it turned out to be the best day for me. My friend took me to see, Will Joseph Cook and I’ve been listening to him ever since – he was on the festival republic stage and was amazing. We then saw, Deaf Havana, Tonight Alive and Half Moon Run who I’d also never really listened to but, again, I haven’t stopped listening to them following amazing live performances. There was a lot of running around towards the end of the day for us as we wanted to see half of almost everyone. It started with Fall Out Boy who stole the show for me – they had fireworks, dancers with fire, acrobatics and flames; oh and not to mention they were unreal! I was actually concerned for Biffy and how they were going to top this (despite knowing they are really fab live). We then ran over to catch some of the Wombats before heading back for Biffy Clyro. Last time I saw Biffy Clyro, they were at MK Bowl and I enjoyed them more than the Foo Fighters so I knew it would be good & safe to say they did not disappoint. We were really torn, Biffy were putting on an amazing show and I felt so sorry for them that they didn’t have a bigger crowd because I thought they were actually better than the Chilli’s. However, we did want to catch the end of, The 1975, so headed to NME for the last bit. I did enjoy The 1975 but I’m not sure they were worth missing Biffy – good job I’ve booked to see them again in December!img_8463

img_8473Sunday has a very exciting surprise for us; as we were walking passed the BBC Introducing stage during the day, we heard one of the best acts of the weekend: K.O.G and The Zongo Brigade (check them out on soundcloud!!) They were amazing and I’m very pleased we stumbled upon them!

And that was the weekend over! I also saw a lot of other incredible artists; Rag’n’Bone Man, Fatherson and The Hunna.

My life now consists of planning which gigs to go to next..

img_8483E x

Leave a Reply

